top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureConner Tighe

Self-discovery during pandemic, Hollywood break down and more

Updated: Apr 27, 2021


Undoubtedly, the pandemic has changed everyone’s lives in the world, some for the worst and others for the better. With my schooling now online and being a journalist, I’ve shifted to social media more. My production rate has increased, and my overall mood is improved with time to focus on my health and needs. COVID-19 has broken barriers with humanity, time management and other issues that are no longer existent. Medical treatment may soon be alleviated by the new COVID-19 vaccine. Even the barrier between celebrities and noncelebrities is gradually disintegrating, making humanity seem more unified in its mission to adjust to an offbeat way of life.


With almost everything I do now being virtual, I’m discovering more time to complete the activities I cherish, like write compelling pieces and read up on entertaining articles I otherwise would’ve glossed over because of my busy schedule. Many companies like Facebook, Amazon and Microsoft have turned to remote work permanently. It all makes me wonder if we all shouldn’t have done this sooner pre-pandemic. Household chores like laundry, dishes and the normal cleanup are becoming more entwined with my daily schedule.


Over the past recent months, I’ve acquired a hobby and potential problem of buying and taking care of houseplants. Something is fulfilling and comforting in having greenery surrounding my bedroom. I even have “new-ish” fish staring at me anxiously waiting for more pellets to settle in their tank. I wonder if this was/is who I am as an individual getting in touch with my true self.


Covering stories like the surge of popularity in aquascaping, jigsaw puzzle sales and drive-in theater attendance tell me I’m not the only one finding hobbies that otherwise would not have been explored previously. What I eat, drink and entertain myself with daily is now right in front of me or seems more put into perspective for me to weigh on. Social media is now more of a priority, allowing me to catch up with old friends and all that jazz easily.

This pandemic has brought us all together in a way. The division between Hollywood status and noncelebrities is blurring with YouTube stars, TikTok sensations and Instagram models taking over the entertainment roles as newer generations grow into the social media age. Many major films have been pushed back a year, and although many celebrities could go without some payment, everyone’s anguish is meaningful and universal.


Although cleanliness is now more of a priority than ever before, self-discovery has been one reward, brought on unintentionally, especially in my life. There’s been a lot of bad this year brought on, besides the pandemic, and it’s easy to get trapped in the madness of it all, but passion prevails. The music industry has never been at its best. A potential vaccine could prevent many deaths, and what matters most in life has come to my attention, which is myself. Life is quick to hurry us and tell us where to go and what to do without room for thought. Now is the time for introspection and reflectiveness for the better of ourselves.





1 view0 comments
bottom of page